Bridge of Noirmoutier Island

Bridge of Noirmoutier Island

Magnificent viewpoint over the Bay of Bourgneuf on one side and over the ocean and the tidal delta on the other, the bridge allowed the inhabitants and workers of the region to be independent of the tide schedules to reach or leave the island. It has paid off for a long time, as the Ile de Ré bridge still is. It spans the Fromentine gully at a place called La Fosse which is subject to strong tidal currents and sand movements ...

Bridge of Noirmoutier Island

Bridge of Noirmoutier Island

It connects the towns of Barbâtre in the south of the island of Noirmoutier to La Barre-de-Monts, on the North Vendée coast, and allows you to cross the Strait of Fromentine. Built by the Dumez company, the first stone was laid on May 12, 1969 in Fromentine and it was opened to traffic on July 7, 1971. It offers an alternative to the passage du Gois (roadway submerged at high tide, passable at low tide) .

The Gois

The Gois

The Passage du Gois is a submersible road located in the bay of Bourgneuf in Vendée. It connects the island of Noirmoutier (Barbâtre) to the mainland (Beauvoir-sur-Mer). The road is passable at low tide and is flooded at high tide. Length: 4.5 km. Water height above the road: from 1.30 meters to 4 meters depending on the coefficient of the tide.

Still much water on the Gois!

Still much water on the Gois!

It's too early or too late, who knows? In good weather and high coefficient you can cross from 1h30 before until 1h30 after the hour of low tide. In any case, it is advisable to consult the signs on either side of the Gois before any crossing ... Weather conditions may change these times given as an indication ...

Too late to enter the Gois

Too late to enter the Gois

A too late start is reckless, the sea covers the road, which risks getting bogged down and staying there. The car breaks down, the engine stalls. If this happens to you, get out of the car carefully and join one of the 9 beacons, some of which are equipped with platforms to wait for help.

The house of César et Rosalie, the movie

The house of César et Rosalie, the movie

Several films have been shot in Noirmoutier. La Foire aux femmes by Jean Stelli, shot at the Passage du Gois in 1956, Maléfices by Henri Decoin in 1962, César and Rosalie by Claude Sautet in 1972, Boy! by Claude Sautet in 1983 and most recently in 2014 Les Vacances du Petit Nicolas by Laurent Tirard.

Noirmoutier Harbour

Noirmoutier Harbour

The nautical activity is still important and makes work a whole corporation, that of the marine carpenters, sailmakers, engine and props makers, etc. In the old port of Noirmoutier there are many boats built in the traditional way by neighboring shipyards.

Noirmoutier Harbour

Noirmoutier Harbour

At low tide the boats rest on two mud banks. The activity resumes as soon as the water arrives at rising tide. Here we see the castle from the south shore of the port, where the shipyards are located.

l'Herbaudière Harbour

l'Herbaudière Harbour

In the northeast of the island, shared between the fishing port and the marina.

Jacobsen Pier

Jacobsen Pier

To explore absolutely, on foot or by bicycle, between the Müllembourg marsh and its migratory birds and the access channel to the old port of Noirmoutier en l'Île.

Le Pont de Noirmoutier

Le Pont de Noirmoutier

Point de vue magnifique sur la Baie de Bourgneuf d’un côté et sur l'océan et le delta de marée de l’autre, le pont a permis aux habitants et travailleurs de la région d'être indépendants des horaires de marées pour rejoindre ou quitter l’île. Il a longtemps été payant comme l’est encore le pont de l’île de Ré. Il enjambe le goulet de Fromentine au lieu-dit de La Fosse qui subit de forts courants de marées et mouvements de sable ...

...

...

Il relie les communes de Barbâtre au sud de l'île de Noirmoutier à La Barre-de-Monts, sur la côte nord-vendéenne, et permet de traverser le détroit de Fromentine. Construit par la société Dumez, la première pierre a été posée le 12 mai 1969 à Fromentine et il a été ouvert au trafic le 7 juillet 1971. Il offre une alternative au passage du Gois (chaussée submergée à marée haute, praticable à marée basse).

Le passage du Gois

Le passage du Gois

Le passage du Gois est une chaussée submersible située dans la baie de Bourgneuf en Vendée. Elle relie l'île de Noirmoutier (Barbâtre) au continent (Beauvoir-sur-Mer). La route est praticable à basse mer et est inondée à marée haute. Longueur : 4,5 km. Hauteur d'eau au-dessus de la route : de 1,30 mètre à 4 mètres suivant le coefficient de la marée.

Encore de l'eau sur le Gois !

Encore de l'eau sur le Gois !

C'est trop tôt ou trop tard, qui sait ? Par beau temps et fort coefficient vous pouvez traverser depuis 1h30 avant jusqu'à 1h30 après l'heure de basse mer. En tout état de cause il convient de consulter les panneaux indicateurs de part et d'autre du Gois avant toute traversée... Les conditions météorologiques peuvent modifier ces horaires donnés à titre indicatif...

Trop tard

Trop tard

Un départ trop tardif est imprudent, la mer couvre la route, qui s’y risque s’enlise et y reste. La voiture tombe en panne, le moteur cale. Si cela vous arrive sortez prudemment de la voiture et rejoignez l'une des 9 balises dont certaines sont équipées de plate-formes pour y attendre les secours.

César et Rosalie, la maison du film

César et Rosalie, la maison du film

Plusieurs films ont été tournés à Noirmoutier. La Foire aux femmes de Jean Stelli, tourné au Passage du Gois en 1956, Maléfices de Henri Decoin en 1962, César et Rosalie de Claude Sautet en 1972, Garçon ! de Claude Sautet en 1983 et tout récemment en 2014 Les Vacances du Petit Nicolas de Laurent Tirard.

Bateaux au port

Bateaux au port

L'activité nautique est encore importante et fait travailler toute une corporation, celle des charpentiers de marine, des voileries, des motoristes et accessoiristes, etc. Dans le vieux port de Noirmoutier on trouve de nombreux bateaux construits de façon traditionnelle par les chantiers voisins.

Vieux port de Noirmoutier

Vieux port de Noirmoutier

A marée basse les bateaux reposent sur deux bancs de vase. L'activité reprend dès l'arrivée de l'eau à marée montante. Ici on voit le château à partir de la rive sud du port, là où sont installés les chantiers des charpentiers de marine.

Port de l'Herbaudière

Port de l'Herbaudière

au nord-est de l'île, partagé entre le port de pêche et le port de plaisance.

Jetée Jacobsen

Jetée Jacobsen

A parcourir absolument, à pieds ou en bicyclette, entre le marais du Müllembourg et ses oiseaux migrateurs et le chenal d'accès au vieux port de Noirmoutier en l'Île.

© Les Yeux Bleus - Tel : 06 15 36 11 79 - ContactMentions légales et CGV